RIBA Chartered Practice

TT Portrait

Thomas Teggin



I studied architecture as an undergraduate at Edinburgh University between 1995 and 1999 (1st class Honours), and as a post graduate at UCL (The Bartlett) under Jonathan Hill between 1999 and 2001 (commended in Technical Studies). I completed my professional studies at the Architectural Association in 2005.



I have worked for a range of practices including Rick Mather, Squire and Partners and Conran and Partners, as well as periods of freelance visualisation work and numerous private jobs.

I have substantial detailing, specifying and job running experience for a large range of project types. These including small domestic extensions, conservation work, large commercial projects, large private and social landlord residential projects.  I worked on the Dulwich Picture Gallery extension, and more recently as Job Architect for a £12m Performing Arts Centre and a £10m library extension for Falmouth College of Arts under Burwell Deakins Architects.

I am a Chartered Architect,  a (lapsed) Passivhaus Designer and I registered with the ARB.




My father was an architect and town planner with Brett, Pollen, Teggin and Taylor (responsible for the Grade II Listed Pall Mall Court, the Sekers building Sloane Street and the Portsmouth Civic Offices). My stepfather was the managing director of the environmental consultancy firm Land Use Consultants. My aunt (Georgie Wolton) was a founding member of Team 4. As a teenager my interest in architecture and housing was strongly influenced and encouraged by family friend Neave Brown.

I grew up between Kentish Town and the Hebrides; our off-grid family holiday home is the only house on the Island of Cara.



I see my role as an architect as an opportunity to contribute and create value. I believe the user should take priority in any architectural design.  I am interested in creating places, situations and beautiful things (in that order).

I enjoy climbing, sailing, cycling, jogging, camping, playing my Ukulele and life drawing.